Through a Childs eyes!

Hello Beautifuls!

Have you ever spent time with a child and been in awe and wonder at what they manage to come up with and say?  Have you ever noticed how they’re not self-conscious or worried that people aren’t going to like them?  Kids are soo full of confidence because they haven’t learned yet that self-love and self acceptance is ‘egotistical’ or ‘narcissistic’.

Kids do what makes them happy.  I think we can all learn a lesson from that.  So often we get caught up in what we think we ‘should’ do to be a good mom, good person, good co-worker, good neighbor, good spouse, good whatever, that we stop listening to what we ‘need’ to be  good to ourselves.  Life is too short to fill it with things that aren’t meaningful and make you happy.  Yes but….I hear you say….I hafta pay the bills, I hafta feed my kids, I hafta, hafta, haft.  Stop trying and start being!  Your soul (inner guide, light, energy, whatever you wanna call it) knows what you need to not only survive but to THRIVE!

Today I want you to take a quiet moment and really ask your soul what you can do to BE.  Sometimes all it takes it to take off the ‘grown-up hat’ and let that inner child out.  Play, laugh, have fun, be silly, and you’ll see that life doesn’t ‘hafta’ be so serious and boring.  Dishes and laundry can be fun…it’s all about the attitude you have towards it.  Doesn’t it drive you nuts when you kids do the dishes and they get water ALL over and it takes them FOREVER but have you noticed how much fun they’re having washing each dish?  Try doing the dishes and getting a lil wet and laughing about it instead of grunting and groaning.

Let go of the need to do everything right and instead, do it in a way that makes you happy.  Imagine what a better world it’d be if everyone did this.  There’d be less judgement, less criticism, less hate and resentment, less anger and guilt and more smiles, more fun, more loving and accepting of others.  Treat yourself as a child this week.  When a child is learning to walk and they stumble, do you tell them, ‘hey idiot, get back up, why can’t you do something so simple?  You’re such a failure, why even keep trying?’  ABSOLUTELY NOT!  We cheer them on, pick them back up, dust them off and encourage them forward.

You are still a child in so many ways.  So you’re in your 30’s, 40’s, 50’s or so on…have you ever been in that decade before now?  Have you ever been in this economy as an adult before?  Have you ever had children this age?  When I’m upset with my children and I take care of something in a way that’s less than helpful I apologize and tell them, “Hey, I’m sorry, this is my first time being a mom to a 9-year-old Dylan or a 6-year-old Devyn or a 2-year-old Drue and I’m still learning how to be the best mom to you.”  Just because I’ve been a mom for 9 years doesn’t mean I have all the answers, so why should I hold myself to such a perfection standard?  I’m still learning, just like my children are.  So be nicer to yourself, forgive yourself, and allow yourself to make mistakes as long as you learn from them.  There’s no need to beat yourself up for not getting it right.  Then give others the same benefit of the doubt.  They’re still learning too!

Living and Learning and Loving,

Jennie Carlson

2 thoughts on “Through a Childs eyes!

Leave a Reply

