No Wisconsin Cauliflower Soup

Hello Beautifuls!

I LOVE cheese but my body does not love it back :-/ and the more I learn about dairy and the body the more I really don’t wanna eat it! BUT…and that’s a BIG but, there are so many yummy recipes out there that require cream and cheese! My solution…coconut milk (the full fat kind) and nutritional yeast.

My favorite wintertime soup is Zuppas Wisconsin Cauliflower. Creamy, savory, and delish! It really warms the belly. However my children and Hubby don’t appreciate the after affects (If ya know what I mean) and for the next 3 days I’m a walking mucus machine (TMI I know but some of you may be clueless as to why you hock loogies like a pro ball player does his chew) its dairy! Don’t believe me?!? Do your own research on how our bodies are not meant to digest it.

So here’s my rendition of Wisconsin Cauliflower Soup…only dairy free!

NO Wisconsin Cauliflower Soup
2 TBS Coconut Oil
2 Onions, chopped
4 Carrots, chopped
2 Stalks of Celery, chopped
3 Clove Garlic, minced
1 Head of Cauliflower, chopped
1 Veggie Bouillon Cube or broth to equal 2 cups (Beef or Chicken works also)
2 Cans Coconut Milk
2-3 TBS Nutritional Yeast (or to taste)
S&P to taste
Slivered Almonds for Garnish

20130202-134034.jpg

In a Heavy bottomed soup pot warm up the coconut oil. Add onions and sauté until almost translucent. Add carrots and celery, sauté 5-7 min more. Add garlic, veggie bouillon and cauliflower and combine until fragrant. Add 2 cups water, cover and boil until cauliflower is fork tender, roughly 15-25 min.

Turn off heat, add in coconut milk and using a stick blender or food processor blend soup till smooth in texture. Taste and add nutritional yeast and S&P to taste. Sprinkle almonds on top and enjoy!

20130202-134115.jpg

Please comment below and lemme know what you think!

Jennie Carlson

 

Leave a Reply

