My Self-Love Promise!

Hello Beautifuls!

As I was writing Self-Love is NOT Selfish I had this thought to delete it all and go with ‘My Self-Love Story’. But instead of listening I decided to still post it (it’s full of good stuff) and go with my story separately. I’m writing this (and the other one started out this way) as part of this group called Soul Salon which is a group discussion around topics that are moving to our Soul. This months topic: Self-Love! I found it appropriate since it’s Feb’You’ary and the Month of Love to combine them. For a list of all the Soul Salon posts go Here!

So…on to my story. This month I’ve really been focusing on Self-Love and even did yummy yoga workshop on it to spread the word. Self-Love is something I promote heavily with all my clients and teach over and over and over again because I believe in it.

I grew up thinking I was AWESOME! My body was ROCK hard, I could do ANYTHING and EVERYTHING I wanted, and I did them really well. Somewhere that all changed. I wasn’t so super awesome, I noticed parts of my body that weren’t as perfect as I thought and I lacked that extreme self-confidence. When exactly did all of this happen? I’m not entirely sure.

What I am sure of is the moment I realized that I was DONE hating myself. When I saw my self-hatred reflected back to me through my daughters eyes I was DONE! I KNEW I had to change, not only for myself but for my daughters. I made a vow to my God, myself, and my daughters that I love who I am, just as I am.

Now Self-Love is something that I practice daily and is just as important to me as my physical practice. This year at my workshop I wrote down a promise I made to myself. This promise I stated out loud to myself, the universe, and the beautiful angels who were at the workshop with me. I’m going to repeat it here so you can help hold me accountable.

I promise to show more love to myself everyday

by looking myself in the eyes and saying…

‘I love you, I forgive you, and thank you’

out loud!

When I catch myself looking in the mirror to check the fit of my clothes or if my make up is ok, I immediately straighten my back, look in my eyes, smile and gently say those words to myself. I can’t even tell you how amazing it feels. I can’t even explain the shift in my mood. All I can say is that I feel connected to myself and God again. I feel peaceful, joyful and empowered. I feel beautiful!

My practice isn’t perfect, I’m nowhere near where I was as a child. But I’m closer. I laugh at myself a little easier when I make mistakes. I forgive myself faster when I’m being hard on myself, and I accept that I’m my own kind of beautiful and that’s EXACTLY what God made me to be.

Dear Friends, May you take time to Love and Appreciate yourself. You will thank yourself for it!

Namaste!

Jennie Carlson

 

6 thoughts on “My Self-Love Promise!

  1. I love that Jennie! I am going to implement that into my daily self-love too. I know that I am not always kind to my reflection, but no more.

    We are all our “own kind of beautiful.”

    Thank you so much for the reminder. It’s just what I needed today.

  2. What a fantastic promise! It’s wonderful that you are spreading self-love through your practice. It will make the world a better place. Love, light and blessings! ♥

Leave a Reply

