Why we resist change even when we know it’s good for us!

Hello Beautiful!

Change is a tricky thing. It’s really one of the only constants in our life. There’s even a country song about it (so you KNOW it must be something that’s hard to deal with) giggle.

“The only thing that stays the same is that everything changes.”  Tracy Lawrence

So why do we resist change?  Especially when it comes to dealing with our health and wellbeing?  We all KNOW what we SHOULD be doing to feel better.  But we just don’t do them.

New_Oldlifesign

This can be so frustrating!  Tony Robins is known for this quote “Change happens when the pain of staying the same is greater than the pain of change.”  But how do we get to that point where the pain of change is less than the pain of being miserable?

“I’m fat and sick and tired of being sick and tired yet I still dig into that bag of Dorito’s, drink a 62 oz. soda, and skip the gym!”

“I hate myself every time I look in the mirror or have to put on a swim suit however I still scarf down that whole tub of Ben and Jerry’s and drink myself into oblivion on the weekends.”

I think there are a couple of different reasons why we resist change.

First:  Change is scary.  Plain and simple.  We don’t know what our life will be like once we drop the weight or start to love and accept our self.  ‘What will people think of me?’  ‘My spouse, family, friends, neighbors and strangers might all view me differently.’ These thoughts and that ‘unknowing’ of the outcome can be terrifying.

Second:  Different things might be expected of you once you change.  Will you be asked to help other people?  Will you be asked to do more?  People might expect you to act or be different after you make those changes and resent you for that.

So how do we overcome these excuses to not be our best self and do what we know is good for us?  Take a minute and ask yourself these questions.  Make sure to be open and honest with yourself.

  1. What are some of the benefits of staying where I am?
    • I won’t have to feel uncomfortable.
    • I won’t have to learn anything new.
    • I won’t have to worry about failing and looking stupid.
    • I won’t have to deal with defeat
    • Staying the same is easy
  2. What could go wrong if I change?
    • It won’t last forever.
    • It will be a lot of work to maintain it.
    • Others will judge me as shallow or obsessive.
    • I could fail.
    • More will be expected of me.

Once you’ve taken a look at some of these questions and answers you can really get down to why you resist change.  Once you know the why you can get to the how.  The how is the fun part because there are so many different ways to go about change!

Jennie Carlson

Image courtesy of mrpuen / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

